top of page
  • seancburdette

Scale Studies

We have exciting news! Over the next few weeks, we will be releasing our series of Scale Studies books for Trumpet, French Horn, Trombone, and Euphonium & Baritone.

About the Series

Brass in Color scale studies is a seven-book series that introduces students to five-note and one-octave scales. These books will introduces students to scale patterns, etudes, and the use of key signatures written in major and minor keys.

Each book in this series uses Brass in Color’s color-coded tablature (Color Fingerings/Color Slide Positions) to help students learn the proper fingerings/positions for each note of the scale.

Books 1 - 3 (Five-Note Scales)

Books 4 - 7 (One-Octave Scales)

Look Inside

There are three sections in each book.  Students can check off their progress after finishing the exercises in each section. In the first section students identity the letter name for each note of the scale while practicing the correct fingerings using the color-coded tablature.  Students then play the scale using different articulation techniques. Finally, the student should learn to play the scale from memory.  In the second section students practice scale patterns using the notes of the scale. In the third section students practice etudes (melodic and technical studies) based on each five-note or one-octave scale.

AVAILABLE NOW: Five-Note Scale Studies Book 1

Book 1 of this series is now available for Trumpet, French Horn, Trombone, and Euphonium/Baritone on our website and major online retail outlets (Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Walmart).


bottom of page